Mini Lesson Monday

Through my years of teaching Google has become my best friend. During the course of the school day I find myself searching many times for teaching strategies, ideas, or answers to the questions my kids ask that I have no idea what the answer is. On one of my various Google searches I came across the Denver Public School’s Instructional Planning Guides for Grade 3. This website is loaded with lessons plans, complete with resources such as graphic organizers, and the books for the mini lesson. In other words, it was a gold mine!

I needed a mentor text for a mini lesson on story elements. In the Grade 3 Unit 5 Instructional Guide is a lesson plan for using the book Brave Irene by William Steig.

Brave Irene

In this story, Irene must take a dress her mother has sewn to the duchess. On her venture through the snow, Irene must brave the weather to make it to the palace.

After reading the story aloud, we complete a story map anchor chart together as a class. My main focus of this lesson is identifying story elements: characters, setting, events (beginning, middle, and end), problem, and solution. I model going back in the text to complete the graphic organizer. We also discuss why the setting is important to the events and how the story would be different if the setting would be in the summer instead of the winter. This book is also a good example to use if you would like to discuss character traits with your students. Irene is obviously brave, but she can also be described as persevering and determined.

After the mini lesson, I give each student a story map graphic organizer to put in their reading notebook. They will need to complete this graphic organizer after reading a book on their level during their read to self time. I will get into more detail of what Daily 5 and the Reading CAFE look like in my classroom in future posts. Please be patient with me as I get this blog up and going! 🙂

Here is a link to Mrs. Sanchez’s Class Reading Graphic Organizers website. She has many, many different graphic organizers to use in the classroom.

You can find the original lesson plan for this mini lesson from the Denver Public School’s Instructional Guides by clicking here.

One thought on “Mini Lesson Monday

Leave a Reply

