Behavior Cards and Lunch Choices

As part of my classroom management I use Behavior Cards. I got this idea from the teacher who I completed my student teaching with who was a 4th grade teacher. It works well with my 2nd graders cans carries over well to 3rd grade.

Here is what the Behavior Cards bulletin board looks like.
image

I give each kid a number at the beginning of the year. This number corresponds with their pocket of a cards. Each kid has a pocket of 4 different colored cards- green, yellow, blue, and pink.

image

When one of my kids do not follow our classroom expectations, I tell them to pull a card. I then write on the card what they were doing. For example, if a kid was talking, I would say go pull a card. They walk over pull their card, and lay it on my desk. We practice what this looks and sounds like in the first couple days of school. They love to be the example of what it shouldn’t look and sound like. Writing down what the kids do to pull a card is a good at of documenting their behavior which is especially helpful at conference time. I also have kids pull cards for not having their homework completed in the morning.

At the end of the day I record how many points they’ve earned based on what color of card is showing in their pocket. I use an Excel spreadsheet to do this. Green cards earn 2 points, yellow earn 1, blue earns 0, and pink (the last card) earns a phone call or note sent home. I usually have the kids call home instead of me. This seems to have a bigger impact.

Each month I have a reward party. This past month we had an extra recess. To be able to go to the party each kid had to have earned 80% of the possible points. For example, three were 62 points possible based on a child possibly earning 2 points a day so a kid would had to have earned 50 points to attend. It was actually 49.6 points, but I rounded up. I partner up with another teacher who takes the kids who can’t go and we have a study hall. Kids can finish any work during this time. Other ideas for behavior parties which usually last 30 minutes are board games, Just Dance dance party using YouTube videos, or a movie party.

The pockets on the bulletin board also hold the kids’ lunch sticks. I write their names and numbers on a popsicle stick.
image
image
In the morning when the kids come in, they use their stick to make their lunch choice by putting it in the correct lunch choice pocket. I can easily see who has not signed up for lunch by seeing who’s popsicle stuck is still in their pocket and I can see who is absent also.

image

I also have some posters above the Behavior Cards. I think the classroom expectation came from Pinterest, can’t remember where I got it.

image
image

Leave a Reply

