Book Leveling

My classroom library continues to grow with each book order I place with Scholastic. Anytime I add more books, I try to locate the DRA (Developmental Reading Level), GRL (Guided Reading Level), and Lexile reading level. I then add these levels to the front cover of the book to help my kids identify if the book that looks interesting to them is a just right book based on their reading level. I have found two website to help with this task, that at times can be tedious: Scholastic Book Wizard and Lexile Framework for Reading.

The Scholastic Book Wizard allows you to search by title, author, keyword, reading level, or help you to find similar books.

20140607-123336-45216237.jpg

I search for Fancy Nancy. All books with a similar title show in the results. I selected the first one to show the levels given and information about the book. I found my kids being able to use this site easily, and they actually wanted to find the levels of their books often. 🙂

20140607-123456-45296354.jpg

There is also a Book Wizard app to use. I have it on my iPad and iPhone. It comes in handy when conferencing with kids. Also, the app features a bar code scanner to quickly find the book’s reading level.

The second website I use is the Lexile Framework for Reading. Like the Book Wizard, it allows you to search by title and author, but also by the book’s ISBN. You can also search by Lexile range which is particularly helpful if your trying to place more complex text in your students’ hands.

20140607-123947-45587100.jpg

I searched for Fancy Nancy again and was given results for titles containing these words. If you select a particulate book you are provided with the Lexile, along with – summary and more books like this one.

20140607-124135-45695087.jpg

This website also allows you to enter in a child’s Lexile to determine his or her’s expected comprehension of this book. This is a pretty handy feature.

20140607-124634-45994275.jpg

These are two websites I find helpful in my classroom. What do you use in your classroom?

Leave a Reply

